Home > Linux > Zimbra installation script not finding pre-requisite packages on Debian

Zimbra installation script not finding pre-requisite packages on Debian

I spent sometime trying to figure out why the installation script was telling me that pre-requisties where not installed.

Not until I decided to debug the script and noticed that bin/get_plat_tag.sh that is supposed to correctly identify my system was returning UNKNOWN instead of Debian5

if [ -f /etc/debian_version ]; then
if [ ! -f /etc/lsb-release ]; then


On my system since I have both files above (lsb-release was added by additional package I installed debian-edu-config), The second check would fail leading the code block section of setting the right distro to fail.

The fix was to rename the lsb-release file and the installation  script was able to detect the pre-requisite packages.

mv  /etc/lsb-release /etc/lsb-release.bak

After installation I renamed the file back to original name.

Hope this also helps someone.

Categories: Linux
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

