Home > Programming, Windows > Uganda Dot Net User Group meeting for 26th Febuary 2010

Uganda Dot Net User Group meeting for 26th Febuary 2010

Friday 26th Feburay 2010 was my first Uganda Dot Net User Group meeting.

The topic of discussion for the day was NHibernate ORM framework presented by J Marcus (Assistant IT Manager bank of Baroda).

Am not an expert of NHibernate, so it was time not wasted to listen and see how NHibernate can be applied in .Net applications. I use a combination of spring and Hibernate in the java applications I do develop, so I know the hustles of hibernate. Like having to create the mapping files and classes that map to database objects manually. Good enough NetBeans 6.8 comes with a reverse engineering plugin that removes the hustles of having to update and create the mapping classes.

Though I would recommend Hibernate when using Java, when it comes to .Net it wouldn’t be part of the list of ORM’s I can use. With .Net Entity Framework + Linq2Sql, I wouldn’t have to look around for an ORM. If I have to use an ORM in my application, then two ORM’s I would recommend. DataObjects.net (DataObjects.net has super linq efficiency) or LLBLGen Pro (LLBLGenPro Linq provider has been greatly improved and generates much more efficient SQL compared to the previous versions).

Below are some of images I took (N900 has a great camera 🙂 ):-

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

